Why I decided to take a semester off from college.

As we head into the new year, I can’t help but get excited for graduation season. 2017 is the year I will see my friends and classmates walk the stage and begin a new chapter in their lives. Myself on the other hand, will be playing catch up. Here it is, my 4th year in college and I made the decision to take a semester off. Yes! This decision came after I had realized I was not only wasting my time, I was also wasting money and slowly destroying everything I had worked hard for up to this point. This semester was going great however. I joined a new club on campus and found a second job that I loved! It was in September when I had mentally checked out of school. I am not sure what came over me at that time. I just remember the weekend following my 22nd birthday is when I physically began to check out. I had dropped my Spanish class first. This came after I knew I was too far in the hole to dig myself back out. I hit my breaking point the weekend after Thanksgiving break. I had a paper to turn in and I had procrastinated until the very last 15 hours of it being due. It was that moment at 2 am when I decided I had enough. I wasn’t upset with school, but I was upset at myself. I knew that if I was going to make this decision to take a semester off I had to have a new plan. That’s when I began to brainstorm and think logically about my future because failure is not an option!

Well here I am, telling you to always look forward to the good that is yet to be! Everything bad that could have happened to me in 2016, happened! I lost friends and money, made terrible financial decisions, and fell under depression and anxiety. One thing I can say positive about this year is that I kept going! Night after night I cried, yet every morning I managed to wake up with a smile. You must be grateful for the good things you do have to appreciate life and feel good about yourself. I’m sharing this story because I want people to know that success does not come over night. There is work you must put in to reach your dreams. Also, you should be honest with yourself! If you are not excelling in life or just unhappy with everything then be honest! Think about the bad things you’ve done then come up with ways to avoid making the same mistakes. My favorite phrase to quote is “you were not put on this earth to pay bills and die!” which is TRUE. You do not want to be that person that turns 30 and can’t find a reason to celebrate because you feel like you’ve wasted your life. You do not want to be that person who put their dreams on hold to make everyone else happy. You should live for you! Keep in mind that you are a GLOBAL citizen and there is more to life than the city you come from. The most important part of being successful is to humble yourself! You cannot be afraid to fail, and you cannot be afraid to start all over! As I embark on a new journey in my life I hope someone can use this information to do the same!

XoXo,

Derrae Davis

