My experience behind the scenes of KC Fashion week, and stepping out of my comfort zone!
Founded here in Kansas City, Missouri; The Kansas City Fashion Week celebrated its 11th season! That already is such a great accomplishment for this City alone.
Based on its website, KCFW Features local, national, and international designers each year. Enabling designers to collaborate with seasoned stylists, make-up artists, models and photographers to present their collections in the most professional atmosphere imaginable.


I’d like to thank the volunteer coordinators and the entire KCFW staff for allowing me to experience this opportunity! Signing up to volunteer is as easy as 1-2-3. If you’re interested in participating in any position actually, you can log onto the website and check out the requirements, then get involved!

My first night volunteering was nerve-wrecking. For me, breaking out of my shell takes a while. I have to trust my environment for one, and for two I have to trust the people within that environment. Walking into the building I didn’t know what to expect. The entire night I stayed to myself. I was so shy and nervous. I didn’t know what was appropriate behavior and what wasn’t. In other words, I had to “peep the scene” before I got comfortable. Haha. I had gotten so caught up in my comfort zone that I had to fight myself not to walk out and never return, simply because I was THAT shy and uncomfortable going into it.


However, I stuck around and made it through to day two. I am so proud of myself for staying committed to this opportunity. My second day volunteering is when I let my charm and personality show! I broke down any barriers I had placed in front of myself and I did what I knew how to do best: TALK TO PEOPLE.

I have to thank my good friend and co-worker, Riley. After expressing to her my anxiety and fear of networking, she assured me that I could do whatever I set my mind to. By the end of day two, I had collected three business cards and left a lasting impression with over 20 strangers!

When it comes to comfort zones, that is exactly what they are. You get comfortable being still. I can’t lie, being still does feel good sometimes. However, at some point in your life you’ll have to step out of that comfort zone to GROW.

I recently started reading a new book titled, “The Tools” by Phil Stutz and Barry Michels. In this, the authors share strategic strategies to transform your problems into courage, confidence, and creativity. Within the first chapter, the authors spoke about facing your fears and stepping out of your comfort zones. I knew that chapter was specifically for me. Haha. I do recommend reading the book for yourself if you find self-help books to be interesting.


I am saying all of this to say, we live in a society where people believe success comes over night. Well, IT DOES NOT. In order for you to grow and achieve greater things, you must be open to change. For me, my comfort zone is the isolation I get in my bedroom. If I could live my entire life in the house I promise I would. My home is not my reality though. I get anxious and nervous when I’m placed in positions that call for me to network and converse with strangers. Believe it or not, it took a lot of courage for me to ask someone “What kind of camera are you using?” Haha.

My advice to you is think about the things you have never done before. Write down all of your fears or questions. Think about your future and what it will take for you to achieve your goals. Lastly, be honest with YOURSELF. If you know you hate giving class presentations because, maybe you suffer with stuttering, then tell yourself that! Then, once you have identified all your fears and the steps it will take to overcome them. You need to actually overcome them!

I wanted to share my experience of breaking out of my comfort zone in the hope to inspire someone who may be going through the same battle. I encourage you to always try new things. I encourage you to be all you can be. I encourage you to see the good in every situation. Finally, I encourage you to do whatever it takes for you to excel into your career, even if that means stepping out of those oh-so-comfortable comfort zones. Lastly, do not be afraid to face your fears!!!

After all, fear doesn’t exist until you give it life!

XoXo,

Derrae Davis

