Random act of kindness • a selfless act performed by kind people to either help or cheer up a random stranger, for no reason other than to make people happier.
Today, I performed a random act of kindness. Although, I have been generous on several different occasions this time was special.
I was on my way to the Kansas City Zoo to check out some animals. On my way, I drove past a woman who seemed to be homeless. She had a grocery cart full of items & sat on the side of the road just watching traffic. Not holding up a sign asking for anything. Not bothering people. Just watching traffic, minding her business. As I drove by I said to myself, when I leave the zoo, I’m going to buy her something to eat if she is still there. Quickly after I told myself that, I immediately made a u-turn and drove to the grocery store. By the time I got back to the location where the lady was sitting, she yelled out “I was just about to leave”. I walked over from my car and gave her a sack of lunch. Both of us smiling from ear to ear. She said thank you, and I said you’re welcome. I then drove away feeling so good inside.

The timing of this situation made me think of the gospel song “he may not come when you want it, but he’s on time.” It was in that moment I knew for sure my God is an ON TIME GOD. I could have easily gone to the zoo as planned. However, the lady would’ve left and I probably would’ve felt bad. My quick decision to turn around in the middle of the street and race to the grocery store makes me believe that God spoke to me and acted through me. I couldn’t have shown up at a better time in this lady’s life. Even though it was just lunch, to her it may have been way more than just that.

So here I am sharing this story to be of inspiration to others. It doesn’t take a millionaire or a celebrity to be a blessing to someone else. It’s easy to get wrapped up in our own lives and our own problems that we forget there is always someone doing worse. There have been many times when I have acted out of kindness to others. So believe me when I say it goes a longgggggggggg way. When you put positive things into the environment, positive things will always come back to you. Although you may not have it all together, you should never be so blind to see other people struggling. If you have something to give or have time to spare, use that moment to give. Lastly, always remember that you will block your own blessings by being selfish and ugly towards others! So how will you be a random act of kindness in someone’s life? Think about, then Be about it!

XoXo,
Derrae Davis.

